9 Goddesses of Navratri – Askganesha Astrology


9 Goddesses Navratri

Navaratri is one of the most sacred festival of Hindus celebrated across the country. Navaratri are celebrated twice in a year. The first celebration is marked in the lunar month of Chaitra or March- April also known as Vasant Navaratri. While the second half of the year witnesses the celebration in the month of September-October, during the lunar month of Ashvin,, also known as the Sharda Navaratri.

Navratri in Hindi means a group of nine nights or 9 ratri and for 9 Goddesses Navratri. It is celebrated to worship the power of goddess Durga. The devotees during the Chaitra Navaratri prays to Goddess Durga, to take shelter in their houses for nine days and bless them with all possible boons, at the same time save them from all the atrocities and other evil eyes as well.

How to Do Navratri Puja?

The Navaratri Puja is divided into set of three days which constitute all 9 days 9 Goddesses Navratri. Each day is used to represent different face of Goddess Durga and dedicated to 9 Goddesses Navratri.

The first set of three nights are dedicated to the worship of Goddess Durga   as the supreme power. She eradicates evils, ill power and negativity.

In the Second set of three days, the Goddess is now revered in the form of Lakshmi, who brings the wealth, prosperity and happiness in homes.

The last set of three nights mark the worship in the form of Goddess Saraswati. Goddess Saraswati represents knowledge, wisdom and education. Worshiping her regularly helps one to achieve.

9 Goddesses Navratri

1.  ShailPutri

The first day of Navaratri marks with the worship of Goddess Shailputri She is best known to be the goddess of inspiration and nature. Nav-ratri Puja begins with the puja of Goddess Shailputri. She is the first aspect of Maa Parvati. She is depicted as carrying the trident or the trishul and the lotus in her hands. The mount of Devi Shailputri is bull; she is another name for Shakti or energy/ power. Sati after self- immolation was born as Shailputri in her next birth to thee kink of Mountain the Himalaya, hence she is called Shailputri

It is also believed that the moon, the provider of all fortunes, is governed by Goddess Shailputri, any ill effects of moon is overcome by the worship of Adi- shakti/ Shailputri


2.  Bhramcharini

The second day of Navaratri is associated with the worship of Goddess Brahmacharini. The second avtar of Sati or Godess Parvati is Brahmacharini. Here Brahma refers to tapa or penance and charini means the one who seeks penance or tapa. She is depicted as wearing white clothes and holding Rudraksha mala in one hand and Sacred Kamandal on the other hand.

She performed severe penance, to get Lord Shiva as her husband, while doing the penance she underwent a lot of austerity hence was called as Brahmacharini.  Mangal or Mars, that is provider of all fortunes, is actually governed by Brahmacharini.


3.  Chandraghanta

The third manifestation of Sati or Goddess Parvati is Chandraghanta; She is worshipped on the Third Day of Navaratri. She is the married form of Goddess Parvati. Married to Lord Shiva, Mahagauri started to adore a half moon oh her fore head hence called as Chandraghanta, the Half moon on the fore head looks like a bell. Praying her removes all physicall and mental distress.

She is depicted as sitting on a tigress with ten hands, her four left hands have Trishul, Gada, sword and Kamandal, and also on the fifth hand there is a Vadran Mudra respectively, and on the four right hands she is seen carrying Lotus Flower, Arrow, Dhanush, Jap Mala, and on her fifth right hand it is Abhay Mudra.

She also governs the Shukra/ Venus planet.


4.  Kushmanda

The fourth expression of Goddess Parvati or Sati is Kushmanda. In order to liberate energy to the world, Parvati started to live in the centre of the sun, hence called the Kushmanda, the ability to live inside the sun, the glow and the light on her body represents that of sun.

It is believe when there was nothing in this universe, when there were no existences, then it is said that it was Mata Kushmanda who spread energy in the world, by just her smile.

Often depicted as Asthbhuja, or with eight hands. Holding:

Amirt kalash, Gada, Cahkra and Jap mala on her left hands, and a Kamandal, Dhanush, BAda and lotus flower on her right hands. Worshipping her will eliminate all sorts of diseases and enhances life span.

It is also believed that Kushmanda provides energy to sun, hence the Sun god is governed by Kushmanda Goddess.


5.  Skand Mata

On the Fifth day, the puja of Skand Mata is performed.

On this day she became the mother of lord Karthikeya, or Skand hence called as Skand Mata

She is depicted with four arms,  in the upper two hands she hold lotus flower and in her one lower hand she holds her son Skand on her lap, and the other hand in Abhay Mudra., mounting on a ferocious lion.

It is also believed that she governs the Buddh planet.

She is believed to bring happiness in life as well.


6. Katyayani

The sixth Manifestation of Godess Parvati is Goddess Katyayani, she has a shield, a sword and a lotus flower in her three hands and the fourth hand is in the blessing pose., mounted on a ferocious Lion, she is considered one of the violent avtar of Goddess Parvati. She was the slayer of Mahishasura. She governs the planet of Brahaspati.

hence, Praying to her, means getting rid of all the bad omens and sins.


7.  Kalratri

The 7th night is for the worship of Godess Kalratri., it is believed that when goddess Parvati removed her outer shiny skin and turned black to kill the demons Shumbh Nishumbh it is said to be the dark night or Kalratri. She is the darkest and most ferocious form of Devi Parvati.

Hence destroys all the demons and kills all bad and evils on the way.

It is also believed that she governs the planet of Shani.

8.  Maha Gauri

The 8th Manifestation is Maha Gauri In this form of Shakti posses 4 armed. She has Damaru in the left hand and Varadan Mudra in another left hand. Devi has trishul in the right hand and Abhay Mudra in another right hand. She also mounts on bull or a white Elephant.

Furthermore, Maha Gauri is depicted in white clothes, She signifies beauty, purity and chastity.


9. Siddhiratri

The last night is dedicated to the goddess Siddhidatri.

She is mainly dedicated to the attaining of the supernatural power of meditative ability. Often depicted as holding discus, conch, trident and mace, in each hand and sitting on a fully blossomed lotus flower.

The last day of Navratri is worshipped in the form of Siddhidatri which constitutes all the eight forms of Mata forming the Ninth form.

She also governs the planet of Ketu. One who worships her gets endowed with virtues and siddhis.


We at AskGanesha wishes you all a very happy Navratri. May Goddess Durga bless you all on this Navratri for 9 Goddesses Navratri and also take you away from all sins and make you pure.

So as to receive happiness, prosperity and happiness in this Navratri, AskGanesha offers you personalized Durga Puja. Get guaranteed results from AskGanesha

9 Goddesses of Navratri - Askganesha Astrology by

Abhishek is the senior astrologer at AskGanesha. His interest list includes pharmacy and astrology. He is a qualified pharmacist and has received many awards in this field and has been Honored with Jyotish Shiromani and Jyotish Martand. Unlike others, Mr. Abhishek had keen interest in astrology since his school days. He is an ardent devotee of Lord Ganesha and Goddess Durga and owes all his success to their blessings.

Leave a Reply